West Side Gift Guide: 13 Pieces Perfect for the Holidays

Source little luxuries and statement-piece splurges on this side of town.

November 16, 2016

By Stacey McLachlan

For the Baker

The vibrant botanical print on this Marimekko oven mitt ($25) brings the heat to the kitchen.  EQ3, eq3.com

large_studio-cheha-reading-lamp-optical-illusion-2-cmyk
For the Late-Night Bookworm

The Studio Cheha LED table lamp (from $200) looks 3D, but it’s an optical illusion produced by a laser-engraved flat surface. Goodge Place, goodgeplace.com

canada_1-cmykFor the Nationalist

Though it’s hand-embroidered in California, the Catstudio Canada pillow ($370) is an intricate representation of Canadian classics.  Goodge Place, goodgeplace.com

dizzy-jacket_084-1554_black-white_hero_1new-cmyk
For the Fashionista

The black-and-white Dizzy jacket ($375) in wool jersey from Canadian label Judith and Charles might just be her new wardrobe staple. Judith and Charles, judithandcharles.com

66-boneyard-48-cad-cmyk

For the Games Night Guru

Kit and Ace gives the classic game a sleek design update with the copper and blue inlaid 66 Boneyard dominoes set ($48).  Kit and Ace, kitandace.com

westside-candle
For the Meditator

These locally made soy and coconut oil Anchor candles ($16) are made in weathered tins, but the almond-and-fig scent is fresh and inviting.  Heather Ross Natural Eclectic, heatherross.ca

horizon-blue-cmykFor the Cozy Couch Potato

The pretty wintery-blue Elvang Horizon throw ($195) is the coziest way to combat a chill. Fullhouse Modern, fullhousemodern.com

3d-faceted-mirrors-2-o
For the Decor Fanatic

Multifaceted 3D mirrors ($79) sparkle and shine while adding a sculptural element to the wall. West Elm, westelm.com

cup_grid_-_with_border_-_product_image_1024x1024-cmykFor the Print-Obsessed Partner

Frame a few of these made-in-Vancouver Barclay Haro prints (from $48) and allow the art-lover in your life to unwrap a graphic gallery wall. Örling and Wu, orlingandwu.com

dsc_8197-cmykFor Your Super-Chic Aunt

These super-soft cashmere leggings ($315) come in a rainbow of colours, but sunshine yellow is the best choice for beating the winter blues. Black Goat Cashmere, blackgoatcashmere.com

prod2701364
For the Lady of Leisure

This stonewashed Belgian linen robe ($119) is minimal, elegant and the ideal outfit for holiday lounging. Restoration Hardware, restorationhardware.com

72%22greatplainsteepee-cmykFor the Adventurous Little One

The Dexton Kids Great Plains teepee ($220) is an instant clubhouse for the kids—set it up indoors or out. Hip Baby, hipbaby.com

copper-garlic-press-o-cmykFor the Stylish Chef

Sorry, stainless steel: copper’s making a triumphant return to the kitchen with Williams-Sonoma’s new collection of shiny, sturdy utensils (from $17) in the year’s hottest metallic finish. Williams-Sonoma, williams-sonoma.com 

Get the Newsletter

Own your city with Vancouver’s thrice-weekly scoop on the latest restaurant news, must-shop hotspots and can’t miss events. Rest assured your email is safe with us.